A new year and a quarter-life crisis

My friend and I proceeded to do a year-in-review over dinner a month ago. Our conclusion:

2011 was a mess.  I made great friends and had lots of adventures but a mess nonetheless as I had no direction in my life.

I have high hopes for 2012.

Currently, I am 2 months shy of turning 25. I live in Washington, DC. (No, I am not an intern for Capitol Hill). I work three jobs that help me pay the rent and feel like a real “adult,” but they are nowhere near what I am passionate about or what I would like to pursue as a career. I got rejection letters from my graduate schools (honestly, not a surprise since I applied pretty late)…and I’m beginning to get tired of living in the city.

I am not a resolution type of person, but I actually wrote some this year because I am making 2012 a starting point to change my life and pursue happiness.

  1. Take better care of myself (eat healthier, run/do yoga/bike/surf more, go to doctors and dentists for regular check-ups)
  2. Take more risks (go out more by myself, meet more strangers)
  3. ….But be responsible (save up some money)
  4. Be more loving (to my boyfriend, family, and friends)
  5. Be kinder to myself (not compare myself to everyone and criticize myself/be envious of what I lack)
  6. Do work that I love without thinking about how it will benefit me in the future
  7. Learn all the things I want to learn (guitar, skateboarding, cooking, French, German, all the biology and chemistry I have forgotten, global affairs, gardening, and…..how to blog!)

We’ll see how long this lasts! (See #7)

My adaptation of a traditional Japanese New Year's Day breakfast to start 2012 on the right foot!

As wordpress aptly put it on my intro post…

Hello, world!

Leave a Reply

