Learn how to say and make Quinoa!!!

I work at a clinic one day a week, and we had an office potluck dinner on Sunday.  Since I knew that one of my colleagues was on the paleo diet, I wanted to make a dish that would accommodate her dietary needs….or at least my best attempt to fit the needs with a quick internet research since all she had told me about the diet before was no rice or peanuts.

The answer: Quinoa!!!

Having been to many potlucks hosted by/for a vegan and vegetarian community, I was no stranger to eating quinoa.  However, I knew nothing about it!  I didn’t even know how to say the name!

Quinoa (pronounced “keen-wah”) is an ancient product of South America grown for its edible seeds.  Unlike grains, it is a great source of amino acids, as well as fiber, phosphorus, and magnesium.  In its natural form, quinoa seeds have a bitter coating of sapopins that make it unideal for consumption, a characteristic to promote dissemination for cultivation.  However, quinoa purchased at the grocery store have been processed to remove the coating.  You can learn more about these delicious seeds reading this article.

For the potluck dish, I modified a basic recipe on the back of my quinoa box and added whatever vegetables I had around.  Other ingredients that would have been nice to add are tofu and bell peppers.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 medium size onion – sliced
  • 3 medium size carrots -peeled and cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • minced garlic, salt, pepper (optional)
  1. Bring quinoa and broth to a boil. Reduce heat, add corn and carrots, and allow to simmer until all of the broth has been absorbed.
  2. While broth is coming to a boil, cook the onion in a skillet with a little bit of olive oil until soft and it gets a tinge of brown
  3. Add onion to the broth mixture when most of the liquid has been absorbed.  Add the garlic, salt, and pepper as you please.
  4. Allow to cool a bit and enjoy!

I should have taken a photo of the finished dish.  It was very pretty and delicious!

Leave a Reply

