Mashed Potatoes!

Mashed potatoes – a classic dish that is the staple of American meals.  While I have eaten plenty of these dreamy, fluffy clouds of starch, I have never made it myself.  Since I bought a sack of potatoes to make home fries or the like last weekend for a brunch that never happened, I figured that this was the perfect time for me to experiment.

I never really took the moment to think about the process of making mashed potatoes.  I should have assumed, since “mashed” is not some term for a meticulous and laborious dish, how simple it is to make them!

I used this standard recipe and added some minced garlic, oregano, and sauteed onions.  I also used red potatoes instead of Yukon because….I don’t know; I like red potatoes.  I’m not sure if it was my choice of potato, but I boiled the slices for much longer than the 10-15 minutes in the recipe.  The result: Dee-lish.

Leave a Reply

