Music Man Murray

Let’s put one thing out there.  I love happy old people.  I find them so endearing.  However, I also develop an incredible reverence for them because of the abundance of knowledge, stories, and the unbeknownst wisdom they have and reveal reflecting on the decades of life they have experienced.  For anyone, there’s nothing more I enjoy than to sit and listen to stories about their lives.  With the elderly, though, I sense vigor in the conversation -no matter the mood elicited by the topic or the triviality.  Sitting across from my senior companions, I find myself impressed by every word and captivated by the raise of the eyebrows, widening or squint of the eyes, manipulation of voice to mimic people or noises, and fervent hand gestures.  Watching the theatrics, I cannot help but imagine myself at their age and how I would go search my memories for something significant.  (Note to self: live more so I can be great entertainment for curious attentive youth).  

While catching up on some news, I came across this NPR article about Murray Gershenz, and I had to share it.

Murray Gershenz is an 89-year-old man going on 90 in May.   What makes him special?  He is a great lover of music.  Since 1962, he has been operating Music Man Murray in Los Angeles to share his collection of roughly 250,000 records, tapes, and memorabilia.  Each item there is his precious treasure.

“I love this place. If I had nothing else to do, I would just be here and listen to records all the time.”

The shop is Murray’s love, and he does odd side jobs to earn enough just to keep it open. However, both father and his son Irv realize that that their time together is becoming increasingly finite.  Irv hopes that someone will buy the store and continue his father’s legacy.  Murray is skeptical of this scenario and hopes a university will add it to their library.  Murray notes that if there are no buyers, his records will most likely end up in the trash.  The total value of his collection is appraised between $3 million and $4 million.  No buyers yet.

In the documentary, Murray reflects on his life with a sense of satisfaction -an ideal for all.

“I’ve done it. I mean, I don’t know how to say it, but when I started this thing in the first few years, I wondered if I could do it. And then for a while I was doing it. And now I’ve done it…Why not try to give it to someone who will appreciate it and take care of it.  I’m not the only person who really appreciates this.”

The implicit message to take from Murray: Make dreams reality. Do what you love.  Share your love with the world.

One thought on “Music Man Murray

Leave a Reply

