Time to Make It Work Again!

 

Yes, yes. I used that cliche catchphrase that has lost it’s cuteness, but I say it to properly announce that Project Runway Season 10 starts today!  My favorite show! Not so much for the designer drama but the weekly assignments and the end products.

If you’ve been following me for a while, then you know that I am a bit of an art nerd.  I love making things, and I have always been fascinated by sewing. When I was little, I would use my toy sewing machine to make little purses for my stuffed animals. AKA a piece of cloth folded in half with the sides sewn together. Big woop.

In more ways than one, my mom has been my idol, but one of the skills I admire in her is her ability to mend clothes and make household items like curtains and sofa covers with a fabric, sewing machine, needles, pins, and thread.  She even made my senior year prom dress.  And she would make it look so easy!

In college, there was a fashion design club where a couple of my friends in art classes were members and showed off their designs in a fashion show each semester.  Their talent is amazing.  One of my friends actually went to FIT and is now living in New York designing.  It made me even more eager to learn!

Another friend who is now taking classes at the Art Institute shared me this video recently that captures all the steps in the design and construction of a garment….which happens to be a jacket by Chanel…Oh, I’m sorry. THE Jacket.  I get so excited watching the video.  I hope to one day own a sewing machine and a dress form to start playing around with clothing design.

Until then, I’ll just keep watching Project Runway…

Leave a Reply

