5 days

I can’t believe it’s already September.  So this is it.  Only 5 days until I bid adieu to DC and board a train for Seattle to begin my amazing bike adventure.  

I don’t think it has hit me.  Even after I have no room and am subletting from a friend. Even when I have no belongings but a box of clothes.  Even after I finish up one of my jobs and find an incredible amount of free time.  Even after my friends give me farewell hugs.

I guess I should have been more active in going outside to take in the sights, sounds, and smells of DC for one last time.  Instead, I have been busy leading volunteer dates, packing, shopping for biking/camping supplies, helping coordinate the next event for a community service project (In One Day DC) that will happen after I leave, and applying for jobs out in California.  I never planned on having a goodbye gathering since I don’t like attention -even if it’s the good kind (I know. I have some unidentified psychological problem).  I suppose it’s fitting that I leave in this manner.  Life will just go on in DC and the memory of me will fade out of the city as people leave the area.

I am very focused on the future, but I take this moment to thank DC for the allowing me to meet such wonderful people some of whom have become my new friends and helping me grow to become an adult with a clear sense and acceptance of my identity.

I cannot wait to see what the west coast will have in store for me.

Leave a Reply

